Well kids, the end of summer is here.  It’s time to say goodbye to all of your Space Camp friends, start enacting your plan to switch lives with your lost identical twin in hopes of getting your estranged parents back together, and start rehearsing how you are going to tell the story about finding that dead body by the railroad tracks.  It was a good time wasn’t it?

Personally, I tried out disc golf (fun and not just for dirty hippies). I drank a gross ton of coffee and added some TV shows and films to my pop culture knowledge repertoire.  I spent some time with friends (and remembered why I don’t spend time with some of them anymore).  And I helped my lovely fiancé plan our wedding by nodding and agreeing a lot at various “decisions” that were placed in front of me.

So even though summer is not officially over for some time (in Florida it happens just at the end of December), reviewing a watermelon beverage seems like a good place to conclude.  And truthfully I only chose this AriZona Watermelon Fruit Juice Cocktail because I really really like the can and it catches my eye every time I pass it.  Come on, it’s pretty great.  The red and the green and the watermelons and the vines.

This is technically a watermelon themed beverage.  Watermelon juice is sixth on the ingredients list behind the juice concentrates for kiwi, pear, and pineapple.  There’s also some mango puree in there. And that’s really what this tastes like: a nice mélange of the refreshing type fruits. It’s essentially a fruit punch.

If I closed my eyes, I don’t think I could identify it as being a watermelon drink.  I might guess kiwi.  But the red can with the aesthetically pleasing watermelons on the front stretch and convince my brain that I am indeed consuming something that approximates the insides of a watermelon.

The second ingredient is the syrup from the exotic high fructose corn plant.  As are most AriZona products, this drink is pretty sweet.  But that’s fine with me, as I’ve made peace with the sugar gods a long time ago.

This delightfully red can is already creeping into my regular picking up a beverage while getting gas routine.  If you like AriZona and the tastes of various fruit juices, you will enjoy this.  If you want really authentic tasting watermelon, just go buy a watermelon.

So I raise my glass to the months of June, July, and August, and would like to leave you with the words to my all-time favorite summer song: LFO’s “Summer Girls.”

Hip Hop Marmalade spic and span, met you one summer and it all began.  You’re the best girl that I ever did see, the great Larry Bird Jersey 33.

