I’ve been getting into powders lately.  Kool-Aid, Jell-O, baking, freshly fallen yet uncompacted snow, the 1995 movie starring Sean Patrick Flanery and Jeff Goldblum.  Ok, maybe not.  It’s really just been Kool-Aid and Jell-O.

I am fascinated to no end by Kool-Aid and Jell-O.  Besides their excellent use of hyphens, they are like glrious little edible chemistry sets.  Especially Jell-O.  Come on.  There is a special joy that comes from mixing water with a brightly colored powder and having the result be a glistening, jiggly, radiant jewel of fruit-flavored ecstasy.  I might be overselling that.  But still.  It’s pretty great.  And there’s always room for it.

Both of these powdered food products only recently re-appeared on my mental horizon.  Sure when I was a kid Kool-Aid and Jell-O were the bee’s knees.  But then I grew up.  And as you grow up, you put away powdery things.  That’s in the bible.  Why do we that?  Are we too good for Kool-Aid?  Too adult for Jell-O?  I say nay.  We are not.  Certainly I am not.

So in the coming weeks I may be launching a series of posts dedicated to the delights of both.  But until then, this review of a name brand, off-brand gelatin product will have to do.

These aren’t new products.  Just new to me.  I saw them at Walmart the other day.  I forget why I was there, but as always, after I dodged my way through the sub-human bloboids running time trials in their mobility scooter grand prix, I found myself in the snack aisle.  (Tip for surviving the scooters: Stick to the garment sections.  Less room to maneuver.  Also remember, they are just as afraid of you as you are of them.)

These two boxes jumped out at me because I don’t really run into the Jolly Rancher logo anywhere anymore.  It seems to me they’ve lost a little street cred and a lot shelf space.  Growing up, I was all about the Jolly Ranchers.  The sticks to be specific.  Sure the little Jolly Ranchers are great, but those long, flat sticks.  Man.

It also happens that Green Apple and Watermelon were and are my two favorite flavors.  Actually, they might be everyone’s favorite flavors.  Hence their selection for gelatinization.

There’s not much to say about these.  Neither the delightfully tart Green Apple nor the deliciously sweet Watermelon disappoint.  They smell and taste exactly like their hard candy counterparts.  I guess that’s not surprising.  I don’t know how Jolly Ranchers are made (get on that, Mark Summers), but I imagine all incarnations could start as a powder.  Maybe the gelatin just lacks a hardening agent?  Seems reasonable.  Also, The Hardening Agent is the tentative name of the new crime procedural I’m developing for the Food Network.

If it’s been a while since you’ve caroused with some gelatin, maybe it’s time to get back in touch with your inner jiggle.  Keep these in mind for your next powdered foods themed dinner party.  Sure they’re not Jell-O, but your uppity bourgeois guests won’t mind.  They’ll be too busy reminiscing about youthful days spent at the local convenience store dropping quarters on candy and the Final Fight machine.

And there’s always room for reminiscing…

Just like there’s always room for Jell-O.  Though again, this is not Jell-O.  Just gelatin.  But you knew what I meant.

(Side note: Pics not the greatest this week.  Picture size was accidentally set to Why Would Anyone Take a Picture This Small.  Apologies.)

