I shouldn’t even be telling you about this. Turn the lights off, close the blinds, and I’ll continue.

Apparently, Nestle is producing a line of frozen fruit bars.  They are part of their Delicias line of products and, according to their website, are “made especially for Latinos craving the flavors of home.”  Now I am a white, and we all know the classic stereotype about how white people don’t like fruit or ice pops, so I won’t go into it here.  Luckily I was able to obtain a box at my local supermarket using the serape, sombrero and fake mustache I had in my trunk from the last Cinco de Mayo.

I must say all of the effort of memorizing the Grocery Store section of my Spanish-English phrasebook was worth it. These things are amazing!  They are light and refreshing and filled (filled!) with sweet, sweet pineapple chunks.  Unlike a lot of frozen fruit bars, they didn’t leave that sticky sugary film in my mouth for hours afterwards.  I tried Pineappple because I’m a pineapple fanatic, but these “paletas” (Spanish for frozen fruit bars) also come in Coconut, Strawberries & Cream, Strawberry, Mango, Tamarind, and Vanilla.  I can’t wait to try the rest.

Nestles Delicias also produces a line of ice creams.  When my gauchos and poncho are back from the cleaners I’ll be trying those as well.

Viva Delicias!